31st Annual Valor Awards

The awards ceremony honored first responders who have exemplified extraordinary heroic actions and exceptional performance of duty.

The Arlington Chamber of Commerce held the 31st Annual Valor Awards on Wednesday, April 17 at the Fort Myers Officer's Club.The awards ceremony was held to honor those who have exemplified extraordinary heroic actions and exceptional performance of duty from the Arlington County Police Department, Fire Department, Office of the Sheriff, and Office of Emergency Management. Nearly 180 guests attended the awards to recognize these men and women for their services to Arlington County.

"Often, this is the only public recognition these officers receive," said Chamber President Rich Doud. "It is unique to hear the stories of their heroic acts and to meet the officers involved. We are fortunate that they work in Arlington and perform so selflessly in the service of our businesses and citizens."

The 2013 Arlington Chamber of Commerce Valor Award Honorees are as follows: 

Arlington County Office of Emergency Management

Mr. Donald Winsock – Life-Saving Award

Arlington County Fire Department

Captain Trevor Burrell – Meritorious Service Award

Firefighter Joshua Wise – Valor with Life-Saving Award

Arlington County Office of the Sheriff

Sergeant Jack Lantz – Meritorious Service Award 

Sergeant Richard Laureano – Valor Award

Sergeant David Bowers, DS II Efthimios Alpos, DS II Monica Lysons-Carr, and DS II Arthur Pitts – Valor with Life-Saving Award

Arlington County Police Department

Captain Kevin Reardon – Meritorious Service Award

Corporal Richard St. Clair and Officer Patrick Maxwell – Valor Award

Corporal David Munn, Officer Daniel Gardner, and Officer Hilary Maloney – Valor with Life-Saving Award

Categories: The A List