Arlington Community Foundation’s Spirit of Community Award Luncheon

The event took place on November 12

The Arlington Community Foundation hosted its annual Spirit of Community Luncheon on November 12th.  A group of 300 distinguished community members, government officials, education leaders, and nonprofit trailblazers gathered to honor Ms. Mary Ann Moran, this year’s recipient of the William T. Newman, Jr. Spirit of Community Award.  Ms. Moran has made a positive impact on the lives of hundreds, if not thousands, of people as a teacher, mentor, advocate, change-agent and community leader in Arlington.  Participants heard from Keynote Speaker, Virginia Secretary of Education Anne Holton, who provided the group with her insight on the state of education in Virginia, our schools, and what we can continue to do to improve education in our communities.  Sonia Johnston of John Marshall Bank and Avril Ussery Sisk, Esq. served as the 2015 Spirit of Community Co-Chairs.


Categories: The A List